Lindsay, Calvin seek repeat on opposing teams at Hugo Open

SUWANEE — Calvin Thain and Lindsay Morris teamed up last year to win the Hugo Open in convincing fashion.
However, this year the two will be opponents as they each seek to claim back-to-back titles.

“I would absolutely love to repeat,” Calvin said. “And I’m going to give it my all. But that would be pretty hard to do this year, I think. There are some amazing teams and frankly last year our team was completely stacked with Lindsay and Dhillon.”

The third member of Calvin and Lindsay’s team, which was known as Smarty Pints, was Dhillon Santokh and he’s out of this year’s Hugo Open after failing to meet the registration deadline.

Calvin is teamed up with Chris Schwarzer and Leslie Brigman. Leslie was signed post-draft after Stephanie Cardeanas was placed on injured reserve.

“That and the fact that I’ve been sick the last 6 days,” Calvin said. “I am pretty much good to go now but we’ll see where my fitness is.”

Lindsay is on a team with Moe Kahsam and Malik Audu and has high hopes of being at the top of the podium again.

“I’m in it to win it,” Lindsay said.

If Calvin or Lindsay can repeat as Hugo Open champions they would join a short list of people to win back-to-back Hugo Open titles. In nine years of the Hugo Open, seven people have won two years in a row. Mike Jones was the last person to win consecutive titles in 2018 and 2019. Brandon Brigman (2014-15), JT Odom (2014-15), Chris Fischer (206-17), Tara Fischer (2016-17), Dennis Scales (2016-17) also did it.

A win for Lindsay would not only give her back-to-back titles, but she could become the first athlete to win three Hugo Open championships.

The only other returning athlete from last year’s podium is David Schramm, a runner-up finisher. He is teamed up with his 14-year-old son John Schramm, the youngest competitor in the event, and Ryan Shiflett.

John and Ryan are Hugo Open rookies along with nearly half of the 36 competitors in the the 10th annual Hugo Open. The event began in 2014 as a friendly in-house competition for No Excuses CrossFit members. The 3-person teams are designed so that every member, no matter strength or skill level, is able to compete.

Other notable Hugo Open returners include: JC Sierra (2021 champion), Leslie Brigman (2018 champion), Scot Poore (three-time runner-up), Jiyun Kim (runner-up 2021), Greg Hayes (runner-up 2018), and Dave Drouault (3rd place 2021).