Athlete Spotlight: Shyam Rachamalla

Name: Shyam Rachamalla

Age: 40

Occupation: Lead Engineer – Electronics and Controls

Hometown: Hyderabad, India

Which class time do you usually attend?: 4:30 PM

Favorite WOD: Anything in which I have the skill to do all the movements.

Favorite CF Movement: All barbell movements

Least Favorite CF Movement: *Gymnastic movements that require swings (until I learn that skill)

3RM Back Squat: 225

1RM Deadlift: 265

Favorite Food: I love food in general (Mexican, Italian, Indian, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese, …) – it’s tough to pick a favorite.

Favorite Movie: I watch movies to relax and get connected to different genres (Action, Comedy, Animation, …..) – tough to pick a favorite.

Favorite Athletes: Sachin Tendulkar – Cricket, Roger Federer – Tennis, Lionel Messi – Football

Dream Job: Farming

Dream Vacation Destination: Bavaria, Germany

If you could have any superpower, it would be…: Happiness

How long have you been doing CrossFit?: Since Jan. 2019

How did you first discover CrossFit and what made you decide to start?: One of my friends mentioned it and it piqued my interest

Tell us about your fitness/sports background: I played cricket, badminton, and other local games when I was in school. After coming to the US, I started playing tennis and volleyball.

What sorts of positive changes (mental, physical, emotional) have you noticed in your life since getting involved at No Excuses?: Definitely improved my stance and flexibility in my body. After I made a habit of going to CrossFit every day when I am in town, I try to get some kind of workout even when I am traveling.

Who or what keeps you coming back and motivated?: Lot to learn and improve on different skills.

In what other ways do you use your fitness?: Staying fit helps in every way.

Name one goal you would like to achieve in the next year (doesn’t have to be CrossFit related, but it can be): Double-unders, Kipping pull-up, Toes to bar, butterfly pull-up, bar muscle-up, handstand push-ups, handstand walks, ……..

Tell us about your hobbies and interests outside of the gym: If I get a chance I would like to do hiking/biking/running

What advice do you have for someone just starting CrossFit or who is on the fence about starting?: Give it a try for a while before quitting.

What do you love most about No Excuses?: Environment, friends, and the encouragement we get all around.